The Book Meme

Duane over at Abnormal Interests has tagged me with a book meme. So here it is…


1) One book that changed your life?
Origins by Leakey and Lewin. It made me love anthropology and converted me from someone who didn’t know much about evolution buit was skeptical anyway to someone who wanted to learn more.
2) One book you have read more than once?
The Pelopenesian Peloponnesian War by Thucydides. I’ve even read parts of it in the original Greek. [would help if I spelled it right, especially since I mentioned I had read parts of it in Greek- afarensis]
3) One book you would want on a desert island?
The Complete Works of Mark Twain (Like Duane I am a Twainophile)
4) One book that made you laugh?
Letters from Earth by Twain – took forever to get through because of all the laughter.
5) One book that made you cry?
Tale of Two Cities. I don’t know why but the “It’s a far better thing I do…” bit just really got to me.
6) One book you wish had been written?
The Story of My Life by a Neanderthal
7) One book you wish had never had been written?
The Bible (hey, PZ is out of town so someone has to be a raving athiest)
8) One book you are currently reading?
I’m out of reading material at the moment but these five should be showing up anyday now:
Shape of Life: Genes, Development and the Evolution of Animal Form
Standards for Data Collection from Human Skeletal Remains
Major Topics in Primate and Human Evolution
Culture and the Evolutionary Process
The Evolution of Homo Erectus: Comparative Anatomical Studies of an Extinct Human Species
9) One book you have been meaning to read?
Endless Forms Most Beautiful: The New Science of Evo Devo and the Making of the Animal Kingdom
10) Now tag five people -
I’ll leave it open to whoever wants to do it, although I would like to see what some of my anthro buddies like Kambiz or Carl or Chris would have to say…

2 Responses

  1. I don’t know how anyone can stick to just one book on some of these topics!
    Thanks for tagging me, it was fun…

  2. I know I could have provided long lists for 2,3,4,6, and 9…

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 54 other followers

