God Bless America: I am Sick of that Infernal Song

I was idly watching the Mets beat the Dodgers when the seventh inning rolled around and of course they had to sing “God Bless America” so here is one from the archives….


While I’m on the subject of baseball let me just say:
I am sick to death of the song
“God Bless America”!

No, really, I never liked it much to begin with but now that it is being used every where to ram a psuedo-patriotism down peoples throats it makes me want to hurl. I like the national anthem, I like “Take me out to the Ballgame” – the full version is below- but come on! Enough is enough!
Lyrics to “Take me out to the Ballgame” :
Katie Casey was base ball mad.
Had the fever and had it bad;
Just to root for the home town crew,
Ev’ry sou Katie blew.
On a Saturday, he young beau
Called to see if she’d like to go,
To see a show but Miss Kate said,
“No, I’ll tell you what you can do.”
“Take me out to the ball game,
Take me out with the crowd.
Buy me some peanuts and cracker jack,
I don’t care if I never get back,
Let me root, root, root for the home team,
If they don’t win it’s a shame.
For it’s one, two, three strikes, you’re out,
At the old ball game.”
Katie Casey saw all the games,
Knew the players by their first names;
Told the umpire he was wrong,
All along good and strong.
When the score was just two to two,
Katie Casey knew what to do,
Just to cheer up the boys she knew,
She made the gang sing this song:
“Take me out to the ball game,
Take me out with the crowd.
Buy me some peanuts and cracker jack,
I don’t care if I never get back,
Let me root, root, root for the home team,
If they don’t win it’s a shame.
For it’s one, two, three strikes, your out,
At the old ball game.”

13 Responses

  1. Off topic, but I thought might be interested in this story about conflicting primates … another episode in the sad story of humans and baboons invading each other’s habitats.

  2. Yea, I’ve always thought that song was jingoistic as hell. I prefer “This land is your land.”

  3. I was at the game yesterday listening to others sing around me, and I happily shouted, “Go Thor!” after it was over.

  4. Take Me Out to the Ball Game is the only song that should be sung in the seventh inning stretch!
    At least they aren’t playing Lee Greenwood’s ultra-jingoist song God Bless the U.S.A.! It is far worse!
    And remember: teach the underpants controversy!

  5. llewelly – I wrote about that story awhile ago. Seems like it’s getting worse…
    I agree with DouglasG, the only song that should be sung during the 7th inning stretch is Take Me Out to the Ballgame…Lee Greenwood, BLECH!

  6. Well, I guess I don’t *mind* “God Bless America” — too much. Trouble is, it’s always been a favorite of certain kinds of “traditionalists” who don’t really understand the traditions they claim to adhere to. Personally, I prefer “America the BEautiful”. Or, oh yes, as one comentator said, “This Land is Our Land”.
    Anne G

  7. I am an avid sports fan, and I find it distasteful to link sports with patriotism. Even worse are the links to the military: military color guards, fighter jet flyovers.
    Just as linking religion to government degrades both, linking sports to patriotism and the military degrades both.

  8. As a child I heard Kate Smith sing “God Bless America” on TV and ever since then I get ill whenever the song is played. Playing it in the middle of my favorite passtime is doubly traumatic. Please make them stop.

  9. Richard – holy cow! That’s pretty much why I don’t like the song!

  10. But it is not half as bad as “God Bless the USA.” Give me Woody Guthrie any day.

  11. Does that happen much outside of New York? I’m (abashedly) unsure of what they sing at White Sox games, but drunken Cubs fans will never tire of singing “Take Me Out”. It has almost religious overtones at Wrigley, and would probably offend many if replaced, as the song is associated with the ghost of (announcer) Harry Caray, who has achieved such a godlike status there that most people forget he was usually stone drunk by the fifth inning.
    And Go Mets! I’ve had a soft spot in my heart for the Metropolitans ever since I saw Bobby Valentine in tears after they lost to (boo, hiss) Atlanta in 1999.
    Of course, soon everyone will be singing the “Super Bowl Shuffle” as the Bears continue to an undefeated 16-0 record, led by the Great Brian Urlacher and Rex Grossman.
    Which reminds me of a Chomsky paper I once read about the links between sports (specifically football, I think) and militarism. Boo hiss to flyovers etc.
    Cheers!

  12. And, as a Chicagoan, boo St Louis, nautrally.

  13. Aww, your just jealous cause the Cardinals have won more World Series and been to the playoffs more than the Chicago teams.

    Does that happen much outside of New York?
    Here in St. Louis they do it on holidays – especially those with some connection to patriotism.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 51 other followers

