The Weather Outside is Frightful, but the Comedy at UD is so Delightful

With apologies to Sammy Cahn and Jule Styne for the parody.
Over at UD, William Dembski starts a thread with:

“You measure a democracy by the freedom it gives its dissidents, not the freedom it gives its assimilated conformists.” — Who said it and how does it apply to the ID-evolution controversy?

Ten comments into the thread he says:

PWE is no longer with us. -WmAD

So much for the democratic nature of UD…


Then, of course, DaveScott declares war on Wikipedia:

A small group of Wikipedia admins with a grudge against ID have been running amok with no oversight performing and/or allowing hatchet jobs on ID and its leaders. It’s long past time to expose what they’ve been doing. Wikipedia is far too popular and reliable source of information, especially for school children, to let this travesty of justice continue. [emphasis mine - afarensis]

Does this mean we have another multipart epic from Casey Luskin? The reason I ask is that I find multipart epics from Casey Luskin to be deeply amusing…

9 Responses

  1. I am deeply troubled by your post.
    On the one hand I like to read what dedicated idiot and noted bum-kisser DaveScott has to say, and I also like to watch his master, Buffalo Bill Dembksi at work, banning people left and right, but I just plain hate to up UD’s traffic!
    I feel strongly both ways, so what is the proper solution?

  2. I do not know. I don’t link to them on moral principles. I usually follow their goings on via the Uncommonly Dense thread at After the Bar Closes ( I neglected to mention that that is where this info came from)…

  3. It warms my heart that DaveScot is posting again at UD. His special blend of insanity, ego, false information and brutish wielding of the ban-bat really give me a good chuckle.

  4. What hatchet jobs? I went and read much of the entries for ID, Dembski, Behe, and Johnson, and if anything Wiki was kind to Larry, Moe and Curly. At least the entries gave the IDers’ views on the issue. Wiki could easily have just skipped the niceties and gone straight to the facts.

  5. DaveScott is pissed because Wikipedia presented criticisms of ID without including a defense of ID and is claiming some kind of POV issue…Apparently, he didn’t read that long section – before the criticisms – laying out Dembski’s beliefs.

  6. “and I also like to watch his master, Buffalo Bill Dembksi at work”
    Did anyone else just get an image of Dembski yelling at Tiktaalik in a basement pit?
    “Put the fossils in the basket”
    “There’s a bunch more transitionals mister, we can give you lots of publicity for finding us”
    “I SAID PUT THE FUCKING TRANSITIONAL FOSSILS IN THE BASKET!”

  7. I wished DaveScot would rather concentrate on his revolutionary meiosis research

  8. You mean the research proving that diploid and haploid are the same thing and that it’s just mere semantic quibbling that requires us to say they are different?

  9. “You measure a democracy by the freedom it gives its dissidents, not the freedom it gives its assimilated conformists.” — Who said it and how does it apply to the ID-evolution controversy?

    I’m just curious – did Dembski post this from the interior of a jail cell, or perhaps while being burned at the stake for heresy?
    Or did he post it from the comfort of his own home/office where he has miraculously escaped the everpresent jackboots of the Darwinian Inquisition?
    I think he doesn’t quite understand that “freedom” is not the same thing as “having your unsupported opinion taken seriously”.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 53 other followers

