I’m for Utilitarianism, No Wait Make That Existentialism….Confusion Reigns

My Sciblings are trying to figure out what philosophy they follow, so, of course, I had to take the test too. I find the result somewhat surprising since I have not read Mills or Bentham and do not know that much about Utilitarianism. Although I am pleased to note that my score was tied, 75% each for Utilitarianism and Existentialism, which makes me wonder if I agree with myself philosophically speaking. Does this mean I have to engage in long winded philosophical debates with myself, or do the two philosophies get along with each other? I’m so confused. On the positive side, at least I know how Hamlet felt…

You scored as Utilitarianism. Your life is guided by the principles of Utilitarianism: You seek the greatest good for the greatest number.

“The said truth is that it is the greatest happiness of the greatest number that is the measure of right and wrong.”

–Jeremy Bentham

“Whenever the general disposition of the people is such, that each individual regards those only of his interests which are selfish, and does not dwell on, or concern himself for, his share of the general interest, in such a state of things, good government is impossible.”

–John Stuart Mill

More info at Arocoun’s Wikipedia User Page…

Utilitarianism

75%

Existentialism

75%

Kantianism

55%

Justice (Fairness)

40%

Hedonism

40%

Strong Egoism

25%

Nihilism

10%

Apathy

5%

Divine Command

0%

What philosophy do you follow? (v1.03)
created with QuizFarm.com

5 Responses

  1. Well, not quite. What this misses, I think, is that the things that bring me pleasure, and that I work toward, are often things that work toward the good (and pleasure) of others. Doing good for my family and children, helping neighbors, volunteer work in the community – the questions missed some fine but important distinctions.

    You scored as Hedonism.
    Your life is guided by the principles of Hedonism: You believe that pleasure is a great, or the greatest, good; and you try to enjoy life’s pleasures as much as you can.
    “Eat, drink, and be merry, for tomorrow we die!”
    More info at Arocoun’s Wikipedia User Page…
    Existentialism
    95%
    Hedonism
    95%
    Utilitarianism
    75%
    Justice (Fairness)
    60%
    Apathy
    30%
    Nihilism
    20%
    Strong Egoism
    15%
    Kantianism
    15%
    Divine Command
    0%

  2. About all I can say is, this “philosophical” test put me in the Hedonism category. That’s strange. I believe life shold be enjoyed, but OTOH, I also think everybody should have an equal chance to enjoy life’s little pleasures. My next highest category was Utililtarianims. So I guess I’m a Utilitarian Hedonist, whatever that may be.
    Anne G

  3. Hedonism 80%
    Existentialism 80%
    I wish they had a choice for questions that you believe do not apply.
    At my age Hedonism = dirty old man….

  4. “To do is to be.”, Hegel
    “To be is to do.”, Nietzche
    “Do be do be do.”, Sinatra

  5. “do be do be do” Yikes, it’s the Budweiser penguin!

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 58 other followers

