Evolutionist Quote of the Day

Over the weekend I ordered a copy of the 2nd edition of Ankel-Simons’ An Introduction to Primate Anatomy. At this point I have only glanced through it, but two things stand out. First the preface is ended with a wonderful line drawing of an Aye-Aye – which shows impeccably good taste. Second, this quote by Thomas Huxley:

Whatever my hearers might do, I myself always learned sometimes by lecturing. And to those who have experience of what a heartbreaking business teaching is – how much the can’t-learns and won’t-learns and don’t-learns predominate over the do-learns – (sic)will understand the comfort of that reflection.

The above quote comes from Evidence as to Man’s Place in Nature

3 Responses

  1. Great quote, but I’m curious: why the (sic)? Yours or his?

  2. It was Ankel-Simons’ (sic). I haven’t tracked down the quote in the original yet to find out why.

  3. It’s a grammatical (sic). If you take out the parenthesis, the sentence reads “And to those who have experience of what a heartbreaking business teaching is[,] will understand the comfort of that reflection.”
    You could fix the sentence by taking out the “to.” (I.e., “And those who have experience will understand.”) I suspect that Huxley was being interviewed and lost track of where his sentence had started. It happens to the best of us.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 51 other followers

