Facebook is for Humans Only: A Call to Arms

I have been having some email exchanges with the people at Facebook. They disabled my account on Thanksgiving and I was trying to find out why. By way of background, I have the Facebook account set up to import posts from this blog and was basically using it as an extension of my blog. At the time I started blogging I was working for some extremely conservative Republicans and and since I am one of those liberal, atheist types I felt it would be better to blog under a pseudonym. When I opened the Facebook account I kept the pseudo-anonymity. Apparently, this is a no-no under Facebook rules. In the email telling me this was a no-no one remark caught my attention. Facebook is for humans only! That’s right. You heard me correctly, the person at Facebook actually told me that Facebook is for humans only! These nice, intelligent, archaeological minded octopi. Gone. Elephants? Gone. Killer Whales? Gone. Chimps? Gone. Space Aliens? Gone. Okay, I got a little carried away on that last link, but you get the point. Facebook is being blatantly Homocentric and is engaging in speciism.
It is time for all the intelligent species on this planet to rise up, and like these baboons take it to the man, er, Homo sapiens and overthrow the bourgeois corporate masters at Facebook. Power to the people, er, um, proletarian intelligent species community.



Update: It has come to my attention that number of other bloggers have experienced the same problem. As Jon Swift observes:

By banning bloggers who use pseudonyms Facebook has declared war on the blogosphere. More and more bloggers have been using Facebook as a social networking tool, but how useful will it be if so many bloggers will be left out.

Like Jon Swift, a lot of people know me by Afarensis and like Jon I have to ask “Who am I impersonating?” I guess I need someone to start a group on Facebook called “Let Australopithecus afarensis back on Facebook”

5 Responses

  1. The reason Facebook wants only your authentic, traceable information and identity is because otherwise it’s business model of selling unbelievably intrusive targeted information to advertisers will fail.

  2. I think it has more to do with this:
    http://www.tpmmuckraker.com/archives/004761.php

  3. At the time I started blogging I was working for some extremely conservative Republicans and and since I am one of those liberal, atheist types I felt it would be better to blog under a pseudonym.
    Alert Denyse O’Leary!!! She is really concerned about political persecution of scientists! I am just sure she would take up your cause.

  4. I don’t see any compelling reason why “person” should be limited to humans rather than used as a collective term for at-least-close-to-human-level intelligences capable of entering into the social contract.
    So: Power to the people, no matter what shape, size or color they be!

  5. I only had 13 friends at FB to begin with – now it’s down to 12 – a cruel blow indeed.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 53 other followers

