National Poetry Month: I’m Wrestling With an Octopus

Since April is National Poetry Month here is another for you:

I’m Wrestling with an Octopus
I’m wrestling with an octopus
and faring less than well,
one peek at my predicament
should be enough to tell.
It held me in a hammerlock,
then swept me off my feet,
I’m getting the impression
that I simply can’t compete.
I’d hoped that I could hold my own,
but after just a while,
I ascertained I couldn’t match
an octopus’s style.
It flipped me by a shoulder,
and it latched onto a hip,
essentially that octopus
has got me in its grip.
I tried assorted armlocks,
but invariably missed,
and now I’m in a headlock,
and it’s clinging to my wrist.
It’s wound around my ankles,
and it’s wrapped around my chest–
when grappling with an octopus,
I come out second best.

Jack Prelutsky
From here.

5 Responses

  1. Not bad! A rejoinder:
    I’m Cuddling a Cuttlefish
    No, it’s not some creepy fetish
    it’s an innocent and lifelong wish
    To hug and squeeze and softly squish
    That cousin of the nautilus
    Which one is the best to kiss?
    Why, Sepia officinalis!

  2. Quick – tell PZ!

  3. Sometimes I feel sorry for people who insist poetry should be Serious and Meaningful. That is just so much fun.

  4. Sometimes I feel sorry for people who insist poetry should be Serious and Meaningful. That is just so much fun.

  5. Sometimes I feel sorry for people who insist poetry should be Serious and Meaningful. That is just so much fun.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 53 other followers

