A New Geology Blog

I just stumbled across a new blog on Geology that looks quite promising. The blog is called Antimonite. Who writes it?

The author of this blog is a Swedish student of geology at the department of Geoscience at the University of Lund. I have studied a great deal before going for geology. Basically lurking around different departments since 1998. My academical passions outside of geology includes history, religious studies, philosophy, astronomy and technology. Besides that I like to read science fiction, watch movies and debate (and obviously taste) aged rum.

Go check it out. The first couple of posts are interesting.


While we are on the subject of geology, Science Daily has an interesting report on the breakup of Gondwana:

Evidence suggests that Gondwana began to break up at around 183 million years ago. Analysing magnetic and gravity anomaly data from some of Gondwana’s first cracking points – fracture zones in the Mozambique Basin and the Riiser-Larsen Sea off Antarctica – Dr Eagles and Dr Knig reconstructed the paths that each part of Gondwana took as it broke apart. The computer model reveals that the supercontinent divided into just two large, eastern and western plates. Approximately 30 million years later, these two plates started to split to form the familiar continents of today’s Southern Hemisphere.

The report is based on research published here

6 Responses

  1. Hello and thanks for writing this post about me! I will try to post regularly in my blog.

  2. Hello and thanks for writing this post about me! I will try to post regularly in my blog.

  3. Hello and thanks for writing this post about me! I will try to post regularly in my blog.

  4. No problem! I hope you got a few hits from it…

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 54 other followers

