Seattle Needs To Get With The Program!

According to this item at PhysOrg.Com only 60,000 people have visited the exhibition of Lucy. The Pacific Science Center had expected 250,000 visitors and the museum is facing a half a million dollars in losses and is laying off staff. To add insult to injury the Field Museum in Chicago has withdrawn due to the cost of the exhibit (I was planning on seeing Lucy in Chicago). Although I was against Lucy leaving Ethiopia I did hope she would do well on her tour. Houston, the first stop, was a rousing success. Seattle, however, has dropped the ball. Come on people, get to Seattle and visit Lucy! You will never have the chance again.

9 Responses

  1. Can they send her to Helsinki instead? We’ll take good care of her. Perhaps show her round the city, take her to a sauna, introduce her to Lordi. I’m sure she’d enjoy it.

  2. Oh, sure, ruin the fossil by taking it to a sauna and causing all kinds of damage. This is why no one, well hardly anyone, okay a few people, don’t trust Finland!

  3. Ack, I was going to make an extra trip to Chicago just to see Lucy when she arrived. Bastages!

  4. Does she have a destination after Seattle now that Chicago has pulled out?
    I live in Los Angeles and am going to fly up next month to see her (xmas present from the husband) though I am not looking forward to February in Seattle.

  5. Of course, if I had read to the bottom of the article I wouldn’t have had to ask.

  6. I was planning to see Lucy early in January but had to cancel. I will make a date to see her in February. Maybe the 14th. 8^)
    Its only a 90 miles away but I hate driving in Seattle.

  7. Well, I live in Seattle, and one of the reasons there hasn’t been much traffic to the Lucy exhibit is, the weather here has been horrible! It snowed and then flooded in December and early January. And when it snows, really snows around here, everything grinds to a halt. We’re snow wimps, and besides, much of Seattle is so hilly that even if we weren’t snow wimps, we oouldn’t get out of our hilly traps. I know, There was a similar snowstorm here that froze everything up for a week — about 15 years ago, and I got stuck on a bus for 6 hours before I could get home, and I couldn’t get to work the next day. I don’t blame Seattle for missing Lucy, not exactly.
    Anne G

  8. Well, I live in Seattle, and one of the reasons there hasn’t been much traffic to the Lucy exhibit is, the weather here has been horrible! It snowed and then flooded in December and early January. And when it snows, really snows around here, everything grinds to a halt. We’re snow wimps, and besides, much of Seattle is so hilly that even if we weren’t snow wimps, we oouldn’t get out of our hilly traps. I know, There was a similar snowstorm here that froze everything up for a week — about 15 years ago, and I got stuck on a bus for 6 hours before I could get home, and I couldn’t get to work the next day. I don’t blame Seattle for missing Lucy, not exactly.
    Anne G

  9. I went to Lucy over New Year’s. I live in Salt Lake City and didn’t want to miss the tour. Seeing the fossils was amazing, but the majority of the exhibition is about historic Ethiopia. It’s interesting, but seemed more geared toward garnering Ethiopian pride and tourism than science. Also, the souvenirs available were very limited, basically one design on a t-shirt, poster or coffee cup. There wasn’t even a simple poster of just the fossils.
    The literature I saw from Houston also emphasized Ethiopia’s distinction as the first Christian nation in Africa. An interesting marketing tool for Texas investors or politicians, probably.
    Don’t know if I have a point, per se, than to share my experience.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 54 other followers

