Monkeys in Space!

I don’t know how I missed this, but yesterday was the 50th anniversary of the launching of Baker (a squirrel monkey) and Abel (a rhesus monkey) into space. They were the first primates to survive a trip into space (although Abel died a few days after the trip due to an infected electrode. National Geographic has some pictures to commemorate the event.

In other primate related news, I have managed to injure my right hand and wrist (more about that later) so blogging may be light for the next couple of days.

Update 1: Turns out I have a sprain of the right wrist, makes typing a bit difficult…

2 Responses

  1. A sprained wrist right at the same time as your 20th wedding anniversary. Either that was one heckuva good anniversary or one heckuva bad one.

  2. Nah, the wrist happened Wednesday. My daughter’s dog learned to jump the fence and I was herding it back to the house when I slipped in some wet grass and landed on my hand…

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 58 other followers

