Blogs of Note: Anthropology Writing At Its Finest

I have a rather large list of anthropology blogs in my blogroll and I don’t always get to visit each blog as frequently as I would like. When I do visit one I have checked out in awhile I am always amazed at the quality of anthropology writing on the web. A case in point is Anna’s Bones. Take this post for example:

In my minstrel-like outfit, I sat down next to her and took a breath. I placed my hand on her shoulder and said: “relax, this doesn’t matter. You need to breathe and have some perspective over this. This counts for nothing for your mark. This doesn’t count for anything for your academic record. But mostly, it doesn’t say anything about you and it doesn’t count for anything important for your life. You can finish this some other time. Just breathe.” She wiped her tears and became calm. Between apologies and thank you’s, she handed me her half empty lab book to be filled at some other time in the future. I wasn’t sure who I had just spoken to: to a young undergraduate student, to myself at 18, to myself now. But mostly, I had no idea what it was I thought didn’t matter so much: the unfinished exercises, others’ mistakes, my mistakes, people, or the heavy key chain around my neck.

It would make an excellent beginning for a novel – the writing in the rest of the post is that good. I strongly suggest you check it out.

2 Responses

  1. Thank you! How flattering!
    I love your blog :)
    Anna

  2. It was an excellent post!

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 51 other followers

