Four Stone Hearth Changes

Note: The next edition is tomorrow at APE.

I would Like to thank Krystal at Anthropology in Practice for filling during my hiatus. She did a wonderful job and has agreed to stay on as co-admin – pending the completion of some projects.

I am in the process of creating a Facebook site for the Four Stone Hearth and will let you all know when it is complete. As part of that process I would like to rewrite part of the Hearth’s mission statement. As it stands now it says:

The Fourth Stone Hearth is a blog carnival that specializes in anthropology in the widest (American) sense of that word. Here, anthropology is the study of humankind, throughout all times and places, focussing primarily on four lines of research:

* archaeology
* socio-cultural anthropology
* bio-physical anthropology
* linguistic anthropology

Each one of these subfields is a stone in our hearth.

I would like to expand on this as each sub-field is listed without providing any sense of its scope and subject matter. I will do the bio-physical anthropology but I would like some volunteers for the other fields – preferably from someone working in that area.

A number of people have suggested having a blog possibly a group blog for the Hearth, with RS feeds and email subscriptions and such and I am looking into that. WordPress is out because they don’t allow widgets and such. I am not all that fond of Blogger either, but at least they allow widgets. I am open to suggestion on this. I have toyed with the idea of buying a domain but don’t wish to saddle future admins with paying for the privilege.

Another suggestion is to set up something like Research Blogging and will look into that as well. Several people have mentioned Twitter, I’m not that familiar with it but we will see…

2 Responses

  1. WordPress MU allows widgets and has a great backend & interface for multiple users and mutliple/related blogs.

    Needs to be installed on a server though, so someone would need to offer to host it – and get a domain name.

    (I’d be willing to host as I’ve extra space and bandwidth – but I’ve only my own domain name, so…)

  2. Horribly late and probably full of spelling mistakes: The 116th Edition fo the Four Stone hearth is finally online!

    Since I’m to “Internet-stupid” to do any proper Links within this comment, I linked to my post over my “Website” field, so just click on my Name.

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 53 other followers

