Today Did Not Go Like I Had Planned

Regular readers may remember that I was hospitalized a while back due to a a cyst that got infected with staph. Today was the day that for it to be removed. Other than suffering a vaso-valgal response due being to injected repeatedly (with a local) and hurling (hey it was their fault – they told me I could have a cup of coffee, or two) it went fine. Although I didn’t have as much free time as I though and I’m glad I took the whole day off. Feel like crap though so I probably won’t post anything else until tomorrow.

6 Responses

  1. I hope you are feeling better. So, do you actually pass out? DPR has passed out when he has had injections.
    It’s good that you took the whole day off. I hope you are well enough to at least enjoy this free time.

  2. No I didn’t. Came about as close as you can get though. I was talking about it later with some of the nurses and the anesthesiologist. I thought it weird that getting an I.V. or flu shot doesn’t bother me in the least but getting a local does. They seemed to think that it had something to do with there being more than injection – I think the doctor used 5 shots. I’m glad I took the time off. They had me show up at 10:00 and the procedure was supposed to start at 11:00 – didn’t get underway till 12:30 and with all the excitement I didn’t get out of there till 2:45. I did take about an hour nap and feel much better, but a little tired still which had something to do with whatever they put in the I.V. after the episode (I asked what it was and hey told me but I can’t remember now – except it began with an “R”).

  3. No I didn’t. Came about as close as you can get though. I was talking about it later with some of the nurses and the anesthesiologist. I thought it weird that getting an I.V. or flu shot doesn’t bother me in the least but getting a local does. They seemed to think that it had something to do with there being more than injection – I think the doctor used 5 shots. I’m glad I took the time off. They had me show up at 10:00 and the procedure was supposed to start at 11:00 – didn’t get underway till 12:30 and with all the excitement I didn’t get out of there till 2:45. I did take about an hour nap and feel much better, but a little tired still which had something to do with whatever they put in the I.V. after the episode (I asked what it was and hey told me but I can’t remember now – except it began with an “R”).

  4. I hope you get feeling better. I really enjoy your blog.

  5. I hope you get feeling better. I really enjoy your blog.

  6. Hi afarensis – your day does not sound like fun. Hope you’re, now, feeling better!

Comments are closed.

