Transitions Turns One: A Belated Anniversery Post

A little over a year ago I became concerned with how much information the nations school children were getting about evolution. So I decided to create a new blog called Transitions: The Evolution of Life The first post was published on June 12, 2005 (a post on elephant shrews). Over the next year posts would be written on everything from the evolution of elephants and crocodylia to phyllotaxis to misunderstanding evolution to barnacles. Along the way I have also accumulated a wide variety of resources for both teachers and students (and I’m still looking for more). More importantly, a number of bloggers have contributed posts to Transitions (in adition to the posts I have written for it). So I would like to say a big Thank You to all who have contributed to Transitions:
Thank You Darksyde
Thank You John Wilkins
Thank You Nuthatch
Thank You David Winter
Thank You RPM
and last, but by no means least (since he has contributed a large number of posts) Thank You Aydin Orstan
Hopefully, the coming year will be just as good for Transitions as last year was…In the meantime I am always on the look out for a good post about evolution for Transitions – just keep in mind the target audience.
Speaking of science education…
Before I get to the good stuff I would like to beg for donations to help science education in America. So far, readers of afarensis have been genorous. You have donated $683 to the cause and I thiank you for that. However, more remains to be done. We have been stuck on $683 for a couple of days. It would be nice if get could get to $700 within the next few hours and maybe $800 by the end of the weekend. Just a couple of donations of $10 each would get us over $700…

2 Responses

  1. Thank you for doing this. It is a valuable resource. As you know, I have used some of the Transitions posts in teaching my Intro class.

  2. I’m glad to hear that people are making use of it. I don’t keep stats (say through sitemeter) so I have no idea how many visitors it receives. We also don’t get a lot of comments so I am not sure how useful people find it…

Comments are closed.