Know Your Primate: Rhinopithecus roxellana

Order: Primates
Suborder: Haplorrhini
Family: Cercopithecidae
Subfamily: Colobinae
Genus: Rhinopithecus
Species: Rhinopithecus roxellana
Common: Golden snub-nosed monkey
The taxonomy of the snub-nosed langurs is somewhat muddled. For purposes of this post I am following the simplest arrangement. The genus Rhinopithecus contains four species, three of which live at high elevations (up to about 4,500 meters) in China and the Tibetan plateau.

Continue reading


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 67 other followers